Originally built in 1616, and extended in 1826 by Empress Eugenie De Montijo where the Mill dyed and produced textiles for the Royal Household.
Set alongside the original Mill Stream, the converted Stables now stand as our luxury accommodation offering, Surrounded by lush gardens and natural Forest, in peaceful surrounds and located just 5 minutes from Pierrefonds.
Served in the main Guest Lounge, njoy our complimentary Continental Breakfast served daily between 7am and 9.30am. Enjoy the finest gourmets that the Oise region has to offer including freshly prepared pastries, locally produced cheese's and deli platters, cereals and yoghurts, accompanied by Fresh fruits, juices, coffee and tea.
Within easy reach of iconic Historical sites including Chateau de Pierrefonds, the original home of Napoleon III and Empress Eugenie De Montijo, Palais de Compiègne, Domaine de Chantilly. Experience the regions best of Hot Air ballooning, Horse Back Riding and cycling through the Forest de Compiègne. Golf of Rary offers to courses nearby, or simply relax under the Grand Willow Tree by the stream.
The Master Suite with King size bed, fire place, lounge and ensuite
Our luxury Standard King comes with Cable TV, Air Conditioning, Heating, Private Ensuite, Tea and Coffee facilities, separate sitting area and views over the grounds. 38 SQM
Our Deluxe King, located on ground floor, comes with Cable TV, Air Conditioning, Heating, Private Ensuite, Tea and Coffee facilities, separate seating lobby with views over the stream and grounds. 42SQM
A true statement room with its impressive Fireplace, snug seating area, King Bed, writing desk, Cable TV, Air Conditioning, Heating, Private Ensuite, Tea and Coffee facilities, separate seating lobby with views over the grounds. 68SQM
The 14th century home of Drake Louis of Orleans, it was restored in the 18th Century and was the home of Napoleon III and Empress Eugenie
The Royal residences of Charles V (1374), Louis XV (1731) and from 1856, the Autumn residence of Napoleon III and Empress Eugenie.
Home of the Montmorency family, dated back to 1560. Its cobbled entries make way to impressive sculptures, tapestries and masonry.
Built in 1153, led by Bishop Pierre for the Roman Catholic faith. It is now the centrepiece of Senlis and its beautiful medieval market township. A must do for a lunch or dinner.
Built in 1152 by Queen Adelaide of Savoy, for the Benedictine Nuns, this impressive church today still remains runs by the Nuns and often meet visitors and join in Hymms
A masterpiece of 18th century architecture, the Great Stables were built by the architect Jean Aubert for Louis-Henri de Bourbon, the 7th prince of Condé.
Explore the famed Foret de Compigne by horse. Keep your eye out for Fox, Deer, Boar and pheasant
An early start to see the wonders of Oise and its Royal history by a Champaigne breakfast awaits you.
With 2 signature Golf Courses, a 9 hole and 18 hole, head to the tee and enjoy one of the regions best.
Non stop thrills and excitement await at one of the largest theme parks in france, only 30 mins away
Water Sports thrill park with Water Skiing, Wake Boarding, Water Assult Course, paintball and fun for all
With no restaurant on site, the region has plenty of restaurants and cafes on our doorstep to explore
First recorded in History books in 1616, the original Mill, was built as a wheat mill. In 1830 the Mill was extended adding 2 turning wheels, one for water, the other for oils, to operate as a Textile Mill for colouring canvas.
Eugenie De Montijo, The Empress of France and wife of Napoleon III, restored the Mill in the 1850’s to continue coloring and production of textiles for the Royal Palace located in Pierrefonds. The color Empress Blue was given her namesake to reflect her passion for colour, and her obsession towards experimenting with Chiffons, Lace and Silks from Lyon.
The Empress became renowned as a fashion icon of her time, designing the Eugenie Hat. The Eugenie hat became a fashion favourite in the 1930’s by the likes of Greta Gabo and today the modern millinery fascinator, remains a global must have. Her passion with fitted gowns with heavilly embroidered tops, heavy laces and silk overlays, had the original Spanish Bolero designed in her name.
In the 1960's the Mill was renovated into a Luxury Country Estate and since that time has undergone several renovation projects to present the Moulin Royale. Standing proud alongside the original Stream, surrounded by natural Forests, she sets the stage of your luxury country escape.
From Gare du Nord, take the express train to Compiegne, then a taxi.
Uber and Private Transfers available upon request. Or connect via Express Train to Gare du Nord and connect to Compiegne, then by taxi.
For driving directions, please refer to our contact page. For taxi, please note that the area does not have a regular Taxi or Uber service, although local drivers are available upon request.
Ready to book with us? Have a question about our rooms or services? We'll be happy to help!
13 Rue De La Pierrette, 60350 Saint-Étienne-Roilaye, France
7:30am - 8:30pm